Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings in Books

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings in Books”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

~

Across the Universe

I love the setting in this book!  Being set on a space ship that HUGE, with crops growing in it, a colony of people, animals, warehouse of people frozen…it’s just so big and it’s hard to wrap your mind around.  LOVE it.

Eragon

The world in this book is so big.  It has countries and you’re flying from place to place on the back of a dragon.  It’s just so amazing! Plus the story is one of my favorites!

Hunger Games

When I first read this book, I couldn’t believe the world feeling of it.  I want to say this was really my first dystopian novel that didn’t include zombies or vampires….I seriously loved the world building.

Harry Potter

Of course the world itself is the actual world, but Hogwarts is just so magical.  There’s no place like it with moving staircases, the room of requirement, bathrooms with moaning Myrtle, the whomping willow…I could go on and on…including the talking portraits, the ceiling in the dining room…

Angelfall

A world in which the bad guys are angels and it’s every man for himself, Penryn is forced to try to keep her mom sane while looking for her sister since she had been kidnapped by an angel.  It’s just such a different story with a little bit of romance and some awesome one-liners.

Forest of Hands and Teeth

Zombies.  Zombies.  Zombies.  They’re the good scary kind too.  The world setting in this one is a little different since people are “holed” up within a fence in the middle of the forest and have no idea what has happened to the rest of the world.

Poppy

Two faerie courts and a warrior who travels from the Fae world to the real world on a mission.  The magic is so tangible and so amazing! It’s a beautiful world wrapped with an adventure!

Divergent

I love the factions.  I love the people.  I love the way everyone knows who they are, what they stand for is clearly seen, and there is a tangible feeling of disconnect between everyone.  The world setting is so different and so amazing!

Seraphina

Dragons, as a big flying animal and as people, are living in this amazing world with this huge white tower in the middle of the city.  The world includes magical creatures and a world of souls reborn over and over…it’s a completely new story.

The Pledge

This world was so different with the classes seperated by languages.  I wouldn’t necessarily say the world is “vivid”, but it’s so real that it made for an interesting take on the world we live.

5 responses to “Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings in Books

  1. I always hear good things about Divergent. Maybe it’ll be like The Hunger Games and I’ll wonder why on Earth it took so long for me to read it!

  2. I still need to read Seraphina but you have so many books here that of course I agree with. I think the one I most like is Across the Universe. I didn’t even think of that when I read someone’s Top Ten Tuesday earlier, but now I’m like DUH! SO GOOD!

  3. So happy to see “Poppy” in this list as it should be. Good job Myst! The scenes described in this series are pure and so visual you are there.

Leave a comment