Branded by Keary Taylor

I started the first few sentences thinking I’d just read a little bit to see what it was about…before I knew it, I had read it in a day. I absolutely fell in love with this series. These angels are downright scary!!

Title: Branded (Fall of Angels #1)

Author: Keary Taylor

Publisher: Createspace

Summary (by Goodreads):

Jessica’s had the nightmares for as long as she can remember. Nightmares of being judged for people who have died, of being branded by the angels. Her friends and family think she’s a crazy because of it all. Yet she carries the mark of the condemned, seared into the back of her neck, and hides it and herself away from the world.

But when two men she can’t ignore enter her life everything changes, including the nightmares. The two of them couldn’t be more different. She will do anything to be with one of them. Even tell him the truth about angels, why she never sleeps, and the scar on the back of her neck. But one of the two has set events into motion what will pull her toward her own judgment and turn her into the object of her greatest fear.

First Sentences:

When you go 108 hours, four and a half days without sleep, your body starts to do strange things.

Mine was panicking and shutting down at the same time.

My heart pounded despite the fatigue that consumed me. The ringing in my ears was so loud I couldn’t even hear the breeze as it blew through the towering trees that surrounded me. My eyes ached so horribly I wanted to throw up. If I looked in a mirror I knew they would be bloodshot and swollen. I felt delusional and jumped at every shadow that danced on the black lake’s surface, sure it was a demon come to carry me away.

I was so tired.

Don’t fall asleep.

My take:

I’m in the middle of the second book right now and I can’t believe that 48 hours ago I hadn’t even opened this book that I had bought back in February! The take that this author is doing on angels is amazing and crazy!

Jessica started having horrific nightmares when she was a child. In her dream, she would stand in the judgement room for people who had died, listening to all the good deeds and bad deeds read aloud, in front of a panel of 5 “righteous” angels and 5 “condemned” angels. They would decide “up” or “down” to decide the eternal fate of the person. When judgement is passed there is either a “welcoming up” to the pearly gates or a “branding and dragging” down to hell. Each time Jessica falls asleep, she endures a trial and more often than not endures being painfully branded time and time again. Only thing is…her branding follows her back into the real world so when she wakes up, scars adorn her back where wings will sprout or a brand will be burned at the back of her neck.

When Jessica tries to explain her dreams to her mom and dad, they soon get her therapy and when the dreams don’t fade…her mom tries to have Jessica committed. What a Mommy dearest.

Jessica runs away and soon meets Alex. Whom I like to think of as a Chace Crawford cute kinda guy….

Jessica finds herself opening up to him and she explains her nightmares. As hard as it is to believe, Alex opens up to believing and the new friendship blossoms into a relationship. But someone else moves in the neighborhood and Jessica starts being romantically pursued by not just Alex, but Cole. At the same time her nightmares are changing/evolving and Jessica meets someone that may have gone through the nightmares themselves…just like she has.

With Cole and Alex fighting each other for her…

Let me interject that I wouldn’t I wouldn’t mind the cast of True Blood fighting over me….especially Eric.

…and Jessica’s nightmares changing, she is slowly deteriorating mentally and physically. It’s a matter of time before something gives and Jessica finds herself making a decision that decides not just the fate of her family and new friends…but her soul as well.

I can’t rave enough about this book. I LOVE it. Here’s Branded and here’s the Complete Trilogy!!

Myst~

One response to “Branded by Keary Taylor

Leave a Reply

