Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

I was so disappointed in this book.  I could not get myself into it.  It was not at all what I was expecting and maybe that’s why I didn’t find myself swooning over it.  I’m so crushed!!

Title: Tiger Lily

Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson

Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books

Summary (by Goodreads):

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . .

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Peaches comes a magical and bewitching story of the romance between a fearless heroine and the boy who wouldn’t grow up.

First Sentences:

Let me tell you something straight off.  This is a love story, but not like any you’ve heard.  The boy and the girl are far from innocent.  Dear lives are lost.  And good doesn’t win.  In some places, there is something ultimately good about endings.  In Neverland, that is not the case.

My take:

Disclaimers and such: I received this book from Around The World ARC Tours!  Thank you for letting me read and review this ARC and thank you to Harper Collins Children’s House as well!  So although, I received this book for free in exchange for a review, all thoughts are my own.  This book was released on July 3rd!

I really was crushed.  I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book and as I sat there reading, I felt like I was forcing myself to read it.  I could not believe it!  I put it down and came back the next day thinking I was in some weird funk, but I just couldn’t get myself to invest in the story!  …and I’m never in a funk…

First of all…I had grand dreams of being swept off to Neverland…

I knew the story centered around Tiger Lily, but after reading the first sentences of the book (see above), I steeled myself for something different.

Ok…maybe not that bad…

The story starts with Tinkerbell explaining who Tiger Lily is and trying to explain the world they’re in.  From the beginning, it feels so…normal, but not.  It’s this original world with seemingly no magic except that everyone lives infinitely but at different ages.  The author tried to explain the age differences, such as having elders in the group versus having teenagers…it came across as a “the body just decides when to quit aging, and that’s that.”

Tiger Lily in the beginning is this moody/broody girl and no one can understand why she does certain things.  She had been found by a man in the village …who by the way, likes to wear women’s clothes… and takes her in as his own.  When she goes and saves the Englishman who got swept on their shores, after the tribal council has decided to let him die on his own, things go from bad to worse for her.

I’ll be completely honest and say that I couldn’t make it to the middle of the book.  Everything just felt off.  The writing seemed dry.  Captain Hook wasn’t a really bad guy.  And he needed to be horrible, to help the story.  The lost boys were great; they seemed to be the only redeeming quality in the book.  But it still wasn’t enough for me to trudge through the rest of the book.

I think I wanted it to be from Tiger Lily’s point of view and since Tinkerbell was the one narrating, I didn’t feel the emotional connection to Tiger Lily.  Tink would talk about how small she is, what bugs she would eat, how she would hang on to Tiger Lily’s dress…*sigh.  If I wanted to know about Tinkberbell, I would have read a book on Tinkerbell.  I wanted the emotional stricken Tiger Lily who was going to get royally pissed off at Wendy for wrecking her happily ever after.  It was a cool concept to make Tink the storyteller, but it didn’t do it for me.

So shame on you Tink for trying to steal the spotlight…

I’m sorry kids!  Hopefully I can get you a good review next time to make up for this one.

If you’ve readTiger Lily and liked it/loved it…let me know.  I would love to see if I just approached it wrong and maybe need to re-visit it in a few months.

Myst~

6 responses to “Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

  1. Well, that’s disappointing. 😦 I assumed it would be good because it’s got Peter Pan in it! Okay…I’m probably gonna scratch this one off my reading list. *shrugs* oh, well.

    • It may be something you enjoy! If you can snag it from your library maybe and try out the first few chapters…you may have a completely different take on it! I just wasn’t digging’ it.

  2. I’d been seeing a lot of buzz/love for this one. I’m not really into the whole re-telling thing, so I wasn’t planning on checking it out anyways… but why name your book Tiger Lily if it is from Tinkerbell’s POV? That just seems odd to me.

  3. Pingback: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Around The World ARC Tours

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Posts on My Blog | mystmusician

Leave a Reply

