Temptation by Karen Ann Hopkins

I don’t know if I really actually liked this book or not.  The writing in it, for me, didn’t seem as “up to par” as some of the other books I’ve been reading lately.  I really liked the idea, but I also felt the author maybe backed herself into a corner in trying to get the characters together…I’m confused with my feelings about the book, can you tell?

Title: Temptation (Temptation #1)

Author: Karen Ann Hopkins

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Summary (by Goodreads):

Your heart misleads you.  That’s what my friends and family say.  But I love Noah. And he loves me.  We met and fell in love in the sleepy farming community of Meadowview, while we rode our horses together through the grassy fields and in those moments in each other’s arms. It should be  ROSE & NOAH forever, easy. But it won’t be. Because he’s Amish. And I’m not.

First Sentences:

Holy crap.  I watched the churning water rush over the driveway and back into the swollen creek bed.  I’d never seen anything like it before, and from the look of incredulity on Dad’s face, neither had he.

Sam and Justin, on the other hand, were enjoying the bizarre scene wading knee-deep into the current with their street clothes on, splashing each other like maniac dolphins.  Actually, now that the storm had passed and the sun was peeking its way out from behind the fluffy clouds, it was beginning to feel like a sauna, and I was seriously thinking about joining my brothers.

My take:

Disclaimers and such: I received this book from DAC ARC Tours!  Thank you for letting me read and review this ARC and thank you to Harlequin as well!  So although, I received this book for free in exchange for a review, all thoughts are my own.  This book will be published/released on June 26th!

First things first…I like the idea for the story.  The idea of an Amish boy and a “regular” girl falling in love is a cool premise.  Making it work is a whole ‘nutha story unfortunately.  The author does SUCH a good job showing how young these teens are that when it comes down to the final decision of Noah leaving his entire family/church/life OR Rose completely converting to being Amish and leaving everyone/everything she knows…it makes it seem completely impossible for the author to have one of the characters actually make a choice without upsetting the reader.  And she couldn’t leave her two characters to end up separated…that would just REALLY make us mad.

Secondly, I actually cared for our characters.  I maybe liked Noah more than Rose in the sense that he had convictions and family and knew his place in life.  Rose, on the other hand, could just use her eyes to get anything she wanted and in getting what she wanted, she became a little selfish.

I’m having a really hard time doing a review for this book because I really am torn.  I want to like the book for the “real” characteristics of it, but at the same time…I was upset with the ending.  I am NOT posting spoilers.  I just…the ending…*throws hands up*

This is the first to the series…I don’t know if I can read the second book.  I think I’m maybe more upset at the parents in the book.  One set seems to be overbearing and the second doesn’t seem to care and therefore the kids have issues that they try to fix with another person in their life…I should have majored in psychology!

Overall, I’d give it 3.5 stars.  I liked the characters and the idea.  I wasn’t crazy with the execution and the way it turned out.

Myst~

Leave a Reply

