Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

I’m a smidge confused about the book.  The summary itself was a little confusing, so maybe that’s why I didn’t LOVE the book??  I’m so disheartened!  I really wanted to like it.  I liked it enough to WANT to give it 4 stars, but I don’t know if I would want to read the sequel.  *sigh

Title: Incarnate (Newsould #1)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary (by Goodreads):

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

First Sentences:

I wasn’t reborn.

I was five when I first realized how different that made me.  It was the spring equinox in the Year of Souls: Soul Night, when others traded stories about things they’d done three lifetimes ago.  Ten lives.  Twenty.  Battles against dragons, developing the first laser pistol, and Cris’s four-life quest to grow a perfect blue rose, only for everyone to declare it was purple.

My take:

The world in which Ana lives is full of Souls that are reborn into new human bodies after they die.  These souls are as old as thousands and thousands of years, but in Ana’s case…she’s new.  The only problem with that, is the fact that there has not been a new soul…ever.  She’s not received very well by people and her mother/guardian cannot stand her most of all.

When Ana turns 18, she leaves home.  After a horrible start to her journey, Ana finds herself being chased by a Sylph.  I never really felt there was a good explanation or description of these horrible creatures…  In an attempt to save herself she jumps into a freezing river and is rescued by a man who calls himself Sam.  Ana starts the journey to “Heart” (the city where all Souls reside) and starts a journey to making her first friend.

The quote below in the book, made me feel so upset at the other Souls with a side of compassion for Ana.  Since Ana is new…she in essence took over another Soul’s life.  Ciana can’t be reborn, since Ana took her spot.  So BFF’s and soulmates cannot be reunited with Ciana again…she’s never coming back. Needless to say, people haven’t been very excited about Ana’s presence.

“No one knows if you’ll be around very long.  If people have been less than welcoming, that’s the reason why.”  (Sam)

“I’ll be around my whole life,” I whispered, not quite under the breeze of the forest, the pounding of my heart, and the beating of my invisible and incorporeal wings.  “That’s a long time to me.”

So when Sam and Ana enter the gates of Heart she has mixed welcoming-ings from the residents.  Some are eager to meet the new soul, others are still upset at her taking Ciana’s spot, and some are afraid that the next time they die…someone like Ana’s going to take their spot and they’ll never come back.  With the heightened emotions, Ana can’t tell friend from foe and has trouble trusting.

I loved the music aspect in the book.  Sam turns out to be someone whom Ana had adored for along time and when he agrees to teach her how to play piano, it gives her a challenge that she takes head on.  Her love and feelings for music show how she actually has a knack for it and can listen to something and teach herself to duplicate it back.  THAT is called having an “ear” in the music world…I was a music major in college and it’s a coveted gift to have.  So as Ana listens and learns, Sam also teaches and directs her and it makes for some great moments in the book.

Overall, while writing this review, I started to somewhat understand the book better.  I just felt the friendship/romance was a little forced and wasn’t quite real.  Also, the ending was a bit weird for my taste.  So overall…I’ll stick with my 3 stars and decide later if reading the sequel will be worth it to me.  I wish I had a happier review!!  ugh.  I HATE not having happy reviews.

Myst~

Leave a Reply

