Poppy by Riana Lucas

*ahem*  I have a new author for you guys to keep your eye on!!  (Plus she’s self-published and selflessly has her first book for 99 cents for the Kindle.)  I haven’t read many books on faeries but I enjoyed this book and cannot wait to start on the second one! 🙂

Title: Poppy (The Deadly Flower Series #1)

Author: Riana Lucas

Publisher: Self Published

Summary (by Goodreads):

Poppy, a young female Warrior Faery from the Unseelie Court is sent out to retrieve Halflings from the human world to help build her Kings army. A seasoned warrior, she sets out on what should be a routine exercise, but not this mission. Suddenly Poppy’s world is turned upside down. She meets an odd Halfling – Reed, portals between worlds close, assassin attempts, and much much more.

First Paragraph:

I was summoned to the Unseelie King’s Throne Room.

As I walk through the massive wooden doors, I take in the white marble that covers every surface of the room.  The veins of pure gold running through the marble are the only color on the floor, ceiling, and walls.  The room is cold and dreary.  There are no paintings, or statues, or any other sort of decoration.  There is nothing that could take the attention away from King Foxglove.  The King insists on being the center of attention, which is why the Throne Room’s location is so important.

My take:

Disclaimers and such: I received this book from Riana Lucas, herself!  She was brave enough to send me 2 books in this series for me to read and review!  So although, I received this book for free in exchange for a review, all thoughts are my own.

First thought after finishing the first book…”What?!?  What happens??  That’s it?!?”  *checks Kindle for possible download error*

Explanation: the book ends with a cliff hanger that is Oscar worthy and the book itself is shorter than a normal novel…so we definitely get an amazing feeling for Poppy and Reed in a short amount of time PLUS the cliff hanger.  *throws hand up*  I’m hooked.

Poppy is a female warrior faery in the Unseelie court and is sent on a mission to go into the human world to retrieve a “halfling” (half faery and half human).  Before she leaves, Damian (her mentor) lets her in on some crazy news.  The rival and enemy Queen, of the Seelie court, has apparently achieved enough power to close the portals to the human world, meaning should Poppy fail to come back in time…she could get stuck in the human world forever.

Once Poppy gets to the human realm, she quickly locates her “Halfling” and finds him giving a surf lesson…we all know about surfer boys and how beautiful they are… Plus the fact that he’s half Fae apparently enhances his looks to give him that “mmmm….yummy!” factor.

Not long after her introduction with Reed, Poppy finds herself being hunted and shot at by another Fae and the chase is on to keep one step ahead of this villain while keeping herself and Reed alive.  Theeeeeeeere’s just one slight problem…the portals aren’t opening and Poppy seems to be stuck with Reed in the human realm.  Poppy soon finds herself making friends with this Halfling, even though she’s never connected with any other of her missions before, and we see some possible feelings blossom.  I love seeing characters fall in love…unknowingly!

Now…the ONLY thing negative about this book is that it’s short.  I felt like I should have been able to turn the page and keep going, but I ran right into a brick wall.  Thank goodness for me…the author was awesome enough to send me the second book!  I totally recommend it though and I think you’ll find yourself hooked like me.

You can find the book on: Amazon.com // Goodreads

Myst~

Leave a Reply

