Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are  the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

~

After I wrote out the quotes that I liked, I realized that I had BIG quotes.  Haha!

Quote 1:

Insurgent by Veronica Roth:  (I DIED laughing at this in the book!)

The serum wears off five hours later, when the sun is just beginning to set.  Tobias shut me in my room for the rest of the day, checking on me every hour.  This time when he comes in, I am sitting on the bed, glaring at the wall.

“Thank God,” he says, pressing his forehead to the door.  “I was beginning to think it would never wear off and I would have to leave you here to…smell flowers, or whatever you wanted to do while you were on that stuff.”

“I’ll kill them,” I say.  “I will kill them.”

Quote 2:

Inescapable by Amy A. Bartol: (Amy has an amazing sense of humor with her characters…I had so many great quotes to choose from!)

“Freddie holds up his hand, saying, ‘Okay, I hate it when Mom and Dad fight, so I’ll go ahead and babysit Evie with Mr. Paint-by-numbers.  It’ll give you some time to figure out you’re not really mad at her,’  Freddie says to Russell.  ‘Friends don’t let friends get nekkid with professors.'”

Quote 3:

Wanderlove by Belle Malory: (

“I burrowed myself in the corner of the wall, holding the sheet up to my eyes.  Whenever the moment presented itself, I would pull the sheet over my head for protection.  Because sheets are always the best protection against scary things lurking in the middle of the night.”

Quote 4:

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan: (I REALLY liked this quote for some reason…I think it shows humanity at it’s frailest sense…needing to see something to believe.)

“I think she was afraid to love sometimes. I think it scared her. She was the type to like things that are concrete, like the ocean. Something you could point to and know what it was. I think that’s why she always struggled with God. And I think that’s why she also struggled with love. She couldn’t touch it. She couldn’t hold on to it and make sure it never changed.”

Quote 5:

Narc by Crissa-Jean Chappell: (I know I’m kinda cheating with this one since it’s not published until August…)

“When you’re little, everyone tells you to “be yourself,” as if these words could solve all your problems.  They don’t tell you the truth: that nobody really wants you to be yourself.”

Quote 6:

Tomorrow Land by Mari Mancusi: (This quote comes at the right time in the book…just wipes everything clean to show what’s going on in that exact moment…so good.)

“At that moment there was no apocalypse.  No zombies.  No mad dash to Disney World. There was just a boy and a girl – a 21st century Adam and Eve – in a brave new world.”

Quote 7:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: (It just shows how normal his first few years will be, but that he is destined to be amazing, because everyone wants him to succeed…well, maybe not eeeeeveryone.)

“A breeze ruffled the neat hedges of Privet Drive, which lay silent and tidy under the inky sky, the very last place you would expect astonishing things to happen. Harry Potter rolled over inside his blankets without waking up. One small hand closed on the letter beside him and he slept on, not knowing he was special, not knowing he was famous, not knowing he would be woken in a few hours’ time by Mrs. Dursley’s scream as she opened the front door to put out the milk bottles, nor that he would spend the next few weeks being prodded and pinched by his cousin Dudley…He couldn’t know that at this very moment, people meeting in secret all over the country were holding up their glasses and saying in hushed voices: “To Harry Potter – the boy who lived!”

Quote 8:

Angellfall by Susan Ee:  (I debated over a funny quote and this serious quote, and this one won…I can’t wait for the next book in this series!)

“‘I am not afraid of you, your kind, or your god.’

There’s a part of me that cringes at the lightening strike that I am sure will come.  But it doesn’t.  There isn’t even dramatic thunder outside in the storm. It doesn’t make me feel any less afraid though.  I am an ant in the battlefield of the gods.  There’s no room for pride or ego, and barely enough room for survival, but I can’t help myself.  Who do they think they are?  We may be ants, but this field is our home, and we have every right to live in it.”

Quote 9:

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins: (I love how crazy Peeta and Katniss get while trying not to die and then they both sit down and go realize this little thing.)

“Isn’t it strange that I know you’d risk your life to save mine… but I don’t know what your favorite color is?”

Quote 10:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: (Oh, this quote…once you’ve read the book, you’ll realize how great the author is to be able to capture emotion with this one little phrase.)

“KISS ME, HARDY! Kiss me, QUICK!”

13 responses to “Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books

    • Seriously awesome! The only book on the list that was a bit rough was Wonderlove, but it was so original that I looked past some grammar issues. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!!

      • Ooooo…Inescapable is amazing, but it’s a self-published author meaning you would probably have to buy the book from Amazon or Smashwords ($1.99; she has 3 books out for the series and is finishing the final edit for the fourth). Otherwise, Divergent/Insurgent are amazing books and the third will be published next year…you should be able to get those at your library.

  1. I absolutely loved that scene from Insurgent! I was laughing all the way through it. I love the Catching Fire quote too, I think it sums up Katniss and Peeta’s relationship quite well (up to that point, at least.)

    My Top Ten

  2. Whenever I read aloud the first chapter of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, I’m always choking up by the time I get to, “To Harry Potter – the boy who lived!”

    • Harry Potter quotes have been everywhere and I’ve loved it too!! 🙂 I can’t wait for people to read Code Name Verity too…I really want to see reactions and reviews!

Leave a Reply

