Indebted by Amy A. Bartol

It’s not every month that you get to review and read some amazing books and May is turning out to be that month.  Indebted knocked my ever-loving socks off.  I’m already biased about the series, but this book just confirmed my love…I feel like I should renew my vows.

Title: Indebted (The Premonition #3)

Author: Amy A. Bartol

Summary (by Goodreads):

I hang my head in sorrow for just a moment when I know I am truly alone. I feel like I’m going to my execution, just as he had said. Then I move forward again. I hop a fence of fieldstone and cross a field dotted with Queen Anne’s lace. Goose bumps rise on my arms as I pass the cluster of windmills that I have seen in a dream. The scent is sweet in the field though, not the scent of heat, like it had been when it was forced upon me in visions. I gaze down the hill, beyond the small, whitewashed house that I knew would be there. The church looms dark and grim with its rough-hewn, timber façade, capped by tall, oblong spires reaching to the sky. Black, ominous clouds have collected above the roofline, as if Heaven is showing me the way.

My take:

You know how long I have waited for this book?  ….78 days.  …that’s equals a small eternity.

COMPLETELY worth the wait though… I think the wait was magnified by a zillion times since Amy had been awesome enough to tell me that she was sending me a freaking autographed copy of her book!  …you read that right.  My poor mailman thought he had a fan group since I kept waiting for him…I probably could have sold lemonade while I waited to make some side money…*sigh* hindsight.

Onto the book!  So if you haven’t read the first two books, Inescapable or Intuition this will contain some spoilers …plus you haven’t been reading the series that is THE next biggest thing.  Shame on you.  

Evie and Reed are “married” and we get some great (what I like to call) sexy times.  Nothing graphic.  It’s like how a movie would show leading up to the scene and then shut the door and you end up seeing them lay there afterwards.  It is so awesome to see them together happy and bonding.  Evie is still evolving and she’s found she can do some crazy new tricks.  Of course Reed and Zee thinks it’s awesome and want her to demonstrate….boys and new toys.

Russell and Brownie are out on the move and find themselves kidnapped.  This sparks into motion a rescue attempt and Evie offering herself up in order to have Russell and Brownie released.  She soon finds herself back in the hands of Brennus and unwillingly the Gancanagh’s new queen bound by a contract with some crazy strict rules.

Evie is such a great character and totally throws Brennus and his men for a loop.  One minute she’s a pissed off avenging Seraphim, the next minute she’s a girl getting misty-eyed over a memory, and the next she’s challenging them with sarcastic remarks and off handed comments.

Brennus is a HUGE character in this book.  Now here’s the deal with him.  I was so mad at him in the last book…but then slowly his accent got cuter and the way he wanted Evie to actually love him in this book made me start to like him and the Gancanagh clan.  I feel brainwashed. Plus he would go and say cute things like:

“You were a beautiful child,” Brennus says from over my shoulder.

“You think so?” I ask, trying to hide the tightness in my voice. “Tell that to some of the boys.  They used to call me ‘tomato head.'”

Brennus’ eyes narrow to a dangerous edge.  “Who called you dat?” Brennus asks.

“Mikey…” I begin, and then I stop.  “Why?”  I ask with suspicion.

“I will kill him,”  Brennus promises in a soft tone.

“He was nine,” I reply.

“Den he has lived many years longer dan he should have,” Brennus replies with malice.

See???  Banjax!  Usually when I don’t like someone/a character…I end up seriously disliking them for the rest of the book or series.  I totally didn’t like him and am finding myself kinda falling for him.  Props Amy…I don’t know how you did it.

So now here we go again with the waiting for Incendiary and I have a feeling instead of eating Doritos…I’m just going to lose all my hair.

Myst~

7 responses to “Indebted by Amy A. Bartol

  1. Awesome review! Indebted is my next read, just finishing Mockingjay and then I’ll be devouring it. You’ve made me want to hop straight to it!!

  2. Love your writing voice! I like a little snarky in my blog roll:) Also I’ve been reading more YA lately, so it’s nice to find a blog dedicated to that.
    I have not read this series but it sounds intriguing. I will have to download the first one and check it out.
    Have you read the River of Time series by Lisa T Bergren? I just read that one and it was really good. Of course it’s YA time travel and not fantasy exactly but it is definitely worth picking up.
    Ps. 78 days is waaaayy too long to wait for a book. You should get an ereader for instant gratification:)

    • Thank you! 🙂 I have seen the River of Time series but have yet to read it. I may just have to actually pull it from my library shelf!
      I do have an e-reader…I use my iPad’s Kindle app to be able to enjoy books instantly…I just was waiting on the book to be published and sent to me from the author! I hope you enjoy her books! She’s awesome and self-published…and a little snarky, herself!

Leave a Reply

