Insurgent by Veronica Roth

First of all…there are NO spoilers for Insurgent (if you have not read Divergent, there will be).  A number of people have been complaining about finding spoilers, and I wanted to make sure people could read this without having to worry.  I have been DYING for this book and it did not disappoint!  🙂  I did feel like there was A LOT that the author wanted to put in it and it took 525 pages.  I’m still so in love with Four.

Title: Insurgent (Divergent #2)

Author: Veronica Roth

Summary (by Goodreads):

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

First 5 Sentences of the Book:

I wake with his name in my mouth.

Will.

Before I open my eyes, I watch him crumple to the pavement again.  Dead.

My Doing.

My take:

I read it in one day.  I need to re-read again…soon.  I was racing myself to the end and probably missed a few details, but oh man…talk about non-stop action.

First of all…the things I absolutely LOVED about the writing of the book.

It picks up RIGHT where Divergent left off.  – I don’t mean like a couple hours later…I mean, they’re still on the train so you could literally finish Divergent’s last page and pick up the first page of Insurgent and keep reading. I LOVE it when authors do that.

There is no re-hash of the first story.  – Many authors like giving background of the first story to kinda “re-cap”…Veronica just kept writing like everyone had read the first story and it totally made my day.  Thank you!!!

Second of all…the things that I LOVED is about Tris, Four, and the other characters.

Tris finally gets to use her training.  – All the craziness of running to jump in and out of trains in the first book actually makes sense and comes into play.  What makes her who she is and any ghosts that haunt her also determines her actions and how she approaches things. Mainly Will and the guilt of his death from the first book.

Tris and Four’s relationship.  – They’re still in the honeymoon phase, but have to deal with the real life of what is happening with the factions and trying to figure out who to trust.  We all died waiting for them to finally start their relationship in Divergent and Veronica is kind enough to make sure we get our kisses in Insurgent.

The characters that change or die.  – I hate seeing characters die, but if it’s for the sake of the story…it’s best to put them out of their misery.  Authors that don’t do necessary “killing” of characters, I think, cheapen their story.  Also, characters that don’t grow or change make a story stagnant…so the fact that there are a couple people that make you want to scream at them or cry because they’re dying in front of you, it makes the story more alive…in my oh, so humble opinion.

Last but not least, my opinion…

…does that answer your question?

I tend to get into my stories…but this one, I would literally drop the book on the table and walk away for a few minutes because of how upset I would get or how rushed I would feel with the story.  There is a cliffhanger in this one…excuse me, I mean CLIFFhanger.  I could NOT believe how she left the story for the next one!…and then you realize you have to wait a whole year for the next one and it’s not even titled yet!!!  This book was an emotional roller coaster for me.

If you haven’t read Divergent, don’t try reading Insurgent.  You will be frustrated and not know what’s going on.  But it’s worth reading Divergent and then staying up into the wee hours of the morning to finish Insurgent…  🙂

Myst~

 

4 responses to “Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Oh yay! I am so so so excited to get this one! (I’m waiting on it from the library because I am insane. And cheap.) I really need to swoon over Four some more, he’s one of my fav boys in YA.

    • I swoon for Four. I do. I only bought it because 1) Amazon.com was selling it for like $12 + $4 shipping and 2) I have a sister in law and best friend who LOVE this series and wanted to read it ASAP.
      I normally don’t buy books (I wait for my library as well)…but for this series, I made the exception!

  2. Dude, I just bought Insurgent today! At Walmart! I can’t wait to read it. I have a pile of neglected books that I need to divert my attention to, so, unfortunately, Insurgent has to wait. But I can’t wait! Your review got me excited! Its cool to know that I’m not the only one who squeals at the sight of a Veronica Roth book!

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Posts on My Blog | mystmusician

Leave a Reply

