Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters in Books

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters in Books”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are  the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

~

So if there’s a movie made from the book, I’ll try to include the character’s picture, if not…I’ll post a picture of the cover of the book!

Character 1.

Hunger games – Gale

*contains spoilers*  I love how even when Katniss goes to the games he takes care of Prim and her mom.  Katniss is gone for like a 3 week stint; 2 weeks to train and a week in the arena.  Even though she’s making out with Peeta, he still keeps his end of the bargain.  I am totally biased that she should have ended up with him…or ran off with him in the first place.

Character 2.

Inescapable – Reed

Reed, Reed, Reed…first of all he’s just such a brooding death angel.  (Which is totally hot.)  He knows that falling in love with Evie is going to get him in trouble, but the fact that she falls in love with him OVER her soulmate???….that’s seriously hot.

Character 3.

Twilight – Emmett

He is an amazing brother.  Sticks up for you, big bear, gives great hugs, always wants to play video games, or bet to see who’s stronger when you turn into a vampire.  I just see him as this amazing guy (that puts up with Rosalie’s crap) and is super sweet…  I almost wish Bella fell for him.

Character 4.

Beauty and the Beast – Belle

She can sing, she turns down the popular/good looking/rich guy in town, she loves to read, and she finds a prince in disguise!  She lives in France, talks to candelabras (that talk back), and has birds land in her hands…she is my favorite Disney princess.  (This is technically was a movie first and then turned into a book…but that’s ok!)

Character 5.

Eragon – Saphira

Dragons kick butt.  She thinks she is the last of her race and bravely goes into battle to defend Eragon no matter the risk and is always worried about how she looks at the same time.  A total girl but a beautiful devoted creature at the same time.

Character 6.

Partials – Kira

Kira has an amazing kick butt quality.  She knows what’s right and goes for it.  She doesn’t let a guy make her feel like she needs to be anything less than what she is and challenges herself to better herself and find the answers when no one else will.  I think she and I could be friends…and my husband would hate her…haha!

Character 7.

Divergent – Four

First of all…did you see that we “freed” Four?  🙂  If not go read the chapter (from Four’s perspective) that was released yesterday on Divergent’s Facebook page!  *happy dance!*  Four is so complex, but not at the same time…Daddy issues and hard crush on Tris gives his calm demeanor a cool but damaging appeal.  He is sweet but hard at the same time; he’s calm but has inner turmoil.  I just love damaged goods.  Haha!

Character 8.

Harry Potter – Neville Longbottom

*contains spoilers* A character that goes unnoticed the entire series kills Nagini (the snake) and helps Harry out like no one else could…I mean, who would have thought that Longbottom would be the one to help save the day?  That just goes to show that without the Luna Lovegoods and Neville Longbottoms…our world would be destined for zombies and global takeovers by crazy dictators.  That’s my opinion at least.

Character 9.

The Help – Minny

Who can put “crap” in a pie and make someone eat it?  Minny.  Who can then turn around and get a job working for a lady who pays her to basically teach her to cook?  Minny.  Who can deal with an abusive husband and keep a house with kids?  Minny.  Who has the most sass but can get away with it?  Minny.  There you have it.

Character 10.

Heist Society – “Kat” (Katarina)

Her family is so screwed up.  Everyone is a thief or kidnapper or someone who definitely is not cool with the law.  Even though her life isn’t normal she still wants to make sure her father isn’t the one pinned for stealing some paintings even though it seriously looks like he did.  She’s loyal, smart, quick, and beautiful.  A great character!

21 responses to “Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters in Books

    • When I saw the tweets out yesterday about Four being freed, I about hyperventilated. Haha! 🙂 Belle is the bomb; her and Cinderella. I just prefer Belle for her constant reading habits and the fact that she doesn’t go looking for romance, it finds her and he JUST so happens to be a prince.

  1. Some really fun picks in here! I also loved Minnie in The Help, and also really enjoyed Neville and Four. And Belle is also my favorite Disney princess (also, since I have two little girls, she is one of the only ones who is also a decent role model)! Great list!

    I’d love for you to check out my list!

  2. Gale came off as a hotheaded rebel to me and someone who cared too much for politics. I really do not get the love for him. (Though my husband claims to be Team Gale. But he also likes to say stuff like that to annoy me, so I don’t really know for sure.)

    Now, Four. I get Four. I was really surprised by how much I liked him and by how well-developed he was for a romantic lead. I haven’t read the Free Four thing yet. I don’t want to spoil my appetite for Insurgent.

    • Haha! The free Four thing was ok…I was hoping for a different scene, but it was interesting to see his POV. As for Gale, *shrug* at least I don’t have to fight you for him…you can have Peeta and I’ll have Gale and we can double date sometime! 🙂 (Don’t you just LOVE how husbands love to push/punch buttons just to get a rise out of us?)

    • Thanks! Absolutely! Can’t wait to see your list! I debated between Luna and Neville…they’re just such unassuming characters that are pivotal in the end. Love when that happens.

  3. I almost put Belle on my list too!! I love that scene where she walks into the library for the first time…I always dreamed of having that library! Saphira was another great one! I’d forgotten about her!

  4. Omg. I do agree with you about Four. He is wonderful. And dreamy. So is Emmett. I’ll definitely check out the facebook page release! 🙂

Leave a Reply

