The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

I was SO excited to see my request accepted on NetGalley for this ARC/book!!  I downloaded it on my kindle app and as soon as I closed the back cover to Article 5…I started this one and couldn’t put it down!  I LOVE seeing those emails come in saying “Your request has been accepted.”  It’s like getting a free cupcake just for being you!

Title: The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)

Author: Julie Kagawa

Summary (by Goodreads):

In a future world, Vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked—and given the ultimate choice. Die… or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend—a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what—and who—is worth dying for.

First 4 Sentences:

They hung the Unregistereds in the old warehouse district; it was a public execution, so everyone could see.

I stood in the back, a nameless face in the crowd, too close to the gallows for comfort but unable to look away.  There were three of them this time, two boys and a girl.  The oldest was about my age, seventeen and skinny, with huge frightened eyes and greasy dark hair that hung to his shoulders.

My Take:

Disclaimers and such: This was a book from NetGalley.  It was given to me to read and review for free; I am not getting paid for this review.  This is my honest and true opinion.  That being said, thank you to Harlequin Teen for letting me read and review this book!!  Everyone else, look for it to be released in just a few weeks!!

First I just want to say….Poor vampires.  They have been used and abused so badly recently.  First they’re sparkly, then they have powerful rings by witches…these guys have been through the ringer.  If I were one, I would have started off laughing at the feeble attempts, but then would have ended up depressed by how humans have made them all nice and cuddly…”I’ve lost my scary edge.”

Just wait though…we’re really just pissing them off and they’re going to get their revenge at just the right moment…which brings me back to vampires ruling the world, JUST like The Immortal Rules!!

The book starts with Allie, a human, fending for herself and the gang she’s in by trying to find food within the city that’s run by a Master Vampire.  Each sector in the city is fenced off from one another and completely guarded from the outside world by a massive wall erected to keep the “rabids” out.  After being attacked and nearing death, a vampire finds Allie and offers the chance to live by turning her.  When faced with her own death, she chooses life even though it means spending an eternity as a monster.  Allie seemed “human” to me in her thinking, not a frivolous character with no real thought processes..I feel I can connect with her; she’s not airheaded or careless.

After yet another unfortunate turn of events, Allie is forced outside the walls of the city to wander on her own.  Learning to survive in the harsh environments, she soon runs into a straggling band of humans that are headed to a rumored city called “Eden”.  Allie tries to keep her hunger at bay and wants to be human so bad that she keeps her “vampirism” a secret.  The only problem is that Allie finds herself falling for the second in command, Zeke.  And of course, Zeke already has a fan-girl in the group that is NOT a fan of Allie…*cue cat fight.

I loved how the vampires are kept “normal”.  They can’t go out during the day, they all pretty much see humans as food, and they’re cocky.  I felt the story writing was GREAT!  The characters were believable, the adventure was awesome, it was gruesome…but not gory, and there’s a little romance that felt so good.  Makes you want them to beat the odds and figure it out.

I’ve heard great things about the author’s other series “Iron Fey” and after reading this book, it makes me want to read her other novels!  This book started so dark with a helpless feeling; it was like there was no hope for humans at all.  By the end of the book, our heroine is determined to see through the impossibilities thrown her way to help humans and save what little she can.  Of course, what’s a good book without a little cliff hanger?  Not a crazy one though…it’s safe to read!

Myst~

One response to “The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

  1. Really? This is an interesting vampire book. Again, it kinda reminds me of a movie, Daybreakers (good movie). I’ll definitely read this book once I get my hands on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

