Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are  the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

~

This list is a mixture of books that either: 1) The cover caught my attention and I was let down (my fault for judging a book by it’s cover), 2) Seeing a ton of good reviews on Goodreads and not liking it (over-hype), 3) Books in general that, thinking back, I really didn’t like.  Here they are!

Number 1.

Steel Corset by Kady Cross

Steampunk is not my thing apparently.  This is the first steampunk book I had ever read and I couldn’t stand it!  Nothing made sense, there were these things that reminded me of Transformers (the movie) but it was set early England with carriages and horses…weird.

Number 2.

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

There’s a number of people that like this book…it was a *shrug* type book fore me.  It was cute, had a good twist on the Romeo and Juliet story, but there were still parts that I wasn’t all that excited about.  I really don’t want to read the second book…Romeo can’t be redeemed after what he pulled in this book.

Number 3.

A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford

This had a weird concept to me.  A girl kills herself, comes back to life, has this stuff called “touch” that she has to dish out to people, and she’s in love with an angel.  Maybe I wasn’t just open minded enough?  My Review.

Number 4.

Legend by Marie Lu

I am ready for the haters that will want to bash me for putting this up.  The book was ok.  I don’t think this was a horrible book, the ending had me wondering what happened to someone, but it just was a “meeeeh” book for me.  To me, this book is over-hyped. My Review.

Number 5.

Caged in Darkness by JD Stroube

The ending had me wanting to strangle the author.  I read the whole book for THAT?!?  My Review.

Number 6.

Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

If I wanted to re-read Twilight, I would have done that instead of reading the first half of this book.  The second half was good…I just can’t believe the author got away with writing the first half like that. My Review.

Number 7.

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

Again…ready for the haters.  I could not finish this book.  I really really wanted to like it.  It was so “teeny boppy”…I know that’s a horrible word, but it was such an immature book with characters that did NOT seem like angels.

Number 8.

Monster by Frank Peretti

I love Frank Peretti and you don’t know half of it.  I read the kid books he published when I was younger and then got hooked on his other books.  But this one…this one had something like a Bigfoot in it and all I can remember is a girl being picked up with this Bigfoot acting like King Kong.

Number 9.

Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter

I love historical fiction books!  I was so excited to see one for young adult, but it just fell flat.  I couldn’t even get to the middle of it for some reason.

Number 10.

Mary Queen of Scotland and the Isles by Margaret George

I love Margaret George’s books.  I read through her Henry VIII (it’s a behemoth of a book) and loved her Cleopatra and Helen of Troy books.  This one just couldn’t hold me for some reason.

 

20 responses to “Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving

  1. I agree with you about Legend. The summary sounded really good to me, and the reviews made the book seem like the next Hunger Games, but I just couldn’t get into it. I had to return to the library, but I’ll probably check it out again just so I can read the end.

      • Is the life of a book reviewer that dangerous? Have you read Divergent by Veronica Roth? It’s just as good as The Hunger Games.

        Looking forward to your next reviews.

      • LOVED Divergent! I cannot wait to get my hands on the Insurgent (I pre-ordered that one) Book blogging isn’t that dangerous. People just tend to get a little over-protective of their favorites. 🙂

  2. “The ending had me wanting to strangle the author. I read the whole book for THAT?!?”

    Excellent summary of the reader reaction to the unkind ending. I have read a number of books that left me feeling exactly like that. 🙂

    Good list! I haven’t read most of these. But I loved Frank Peretti’s kid books when I was a kid, too. Jay and Lila were awesome.

    • Oh Jay and Lila were so awesome!!! 🙂 Do you have a blog and your own top 10 list? I’d be interested to see what your list would be! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    • I saw your “what i got in the mailbox” post and saw you got it…I couldn’t even get to the middle of it! I don’t know why it didn’t hold my interest, but I tried to go back a couple of times, but couldn’t “stick” to the story! Maybe not my cup of tea?

      • Oh, I know, I really believe in ‘to each his own’. I am really happy that I am learning some history through the book though. 🙂

  3. The only book I’ve read on your list is Legend, and I did like it a lot. But it makes it more interesting when we don’t all like the same books, right? I haven’t read Halo, Steel Corset, or Carrier though I admit to having preconceived notions about them.

    • I didn’t mind Legend…for me, it just didn’t live up the hype. *shrug* It really is interesting to see everyone’s lists of what they like or don’t like and their reasons for their feelings! 🙂 I’m glad I started doing Top Ten Tuesdays!

  4. I am planning on reading Legend one of these days because I might like it (guess we’ll see), but the rest of these I’d probably never even pick up… look at me being all judgy!

      • I understood what you meant! haha! I felt “judgy” too! One commenter (kaye) took it the other way and on her blog wrote about books that surprised her in a good way…meaning the cover didn’t look great, but the story inside was! I felt so negative after reading her post! 🙂 When the second book for Legend comes out, I may re-read and hopefully enjoy it more the second time!

Leave a Reply

