Top Ten Books To Read In A Day

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Books To Read In a Day”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are  the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

~

These books that could easily be read within a day…you’re either hooked enough into the story to want to finish it as soon as possible OR it’s small enough to read in a couple hours or less.  They are all ones that I enjoyed, so hopefully you enjoy them as well!

Number 1.

A Wrinkle in Time – Madeline L’Engle

I remember reading this when I was younger!  It is such a good book, I think everyone should read it at least once.  It’s such a classic!!

Number 2.

Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher

I stayed up till the wee hours of the morning to finish this one.  It deals with a suicide and the reasons why they went through with it.  I’ve heard from a few bloggers that the audiobook for this is great!

Number 3.

How Do You Kill 11 Million People? – Andy Andrews

I read this in one or two sittings.  It’s focus is on the importance of truth and wanting the truth from our country’s leaders. My review is found here.

Number 4.

The Buddha in the Attic – Julie Otsuka

I loved this book.  The way it’s written flows so well; there’s no dialogue, but it explains the life and stories of some very courageous women.  My review found here.

Number 5.

The Day Before – Lisa Schroeder 

The poetic writing in this book was something I was skeptical on, but found that I completely enjoyed. My review found here.

Number 6.

Living Dead Girl – Elizabeth Scott

This book made me so sad, but opened my eyes to understanding and seeing just what could possibly going on around me. My review found here.

Number 7.

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

This book was amazing!  After hearing and reading many reviews, I gave in and read it.  This one is another book I think everyone should read. My review found here.

Number 8.

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

I remember reading this book when I was younger and admired the bravery of the little girl!  The stories of smuggling people out to avoid German camps have always captured my attention.

Number 9.

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

I can announce that I read this in a day….yesterday.  My review for it is going up on Friday!  I really enjoyed this book and the little twist on the story!!

Number 10.

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

I had to have a number 10 and you can never go wrong with a Dr. Seuss book!  The rhyming, the new words, the fun ideas of eating colored ham and eggs…it’s just an amazing book!

9 responses to “Top Ten Books To Read In A Day

  1. I’m planning re-reading A Wrinkle in Time this month. And I am sure I read Number the Stars, but sadly it sort of blends together with all the other Holocaust books I read as a kid. They were big on those in the 90s…

  2. I loved the whimsy of your list – Dr. Seuss Green Eggs & Ham is one of my favorites – and I’m fully grown! Lol – love the rest of your list too – especially A Monster Calls.

    • Thank you!!! I needed a final book and nothing quite completes a list like Dr. Seuss does! A Monster Calls is such a good book! 🙂 I can’t wait click over and to check out your list!

  3. I was struggling to come up with books for this topic yesterday, and I’m glad to see a few of the ones that I jotted down on your list – Thirteen Reasons Why, Living Dead Girl, and The Day Before. Very compelling reads, and books written in verse have been quick and satisfying reads for me. Will have to check out Scarlet and The Buddha in the Attic sometime. Great, diverse list!

Leave a Reply

