Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With

Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With”

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun way to spice up Tuesdays (because everyone hates Mondays, Wednesdays are  the halfway point, Thursdays are “little Fridays”, and everyone knows about Fridays… :)) and it’s hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

When I think of playing hooky from class …not that I EVER played hooky from any of my college classes, mom!… I would want to think of a book that either has length, adventure, or is thought provoking.  So here are my top ten!!

Number 1:

Harry Potter by JK Rowling Why be in class when you can read about other kids learning to do spells like making things float or a how to make a love potion?!?  Any book in this series screams to play hooky with classes!

Number 2:

 

Eragon by Christopher Paolini – The length of this series was amazing plus the adventure and the depth of the characters!  I probably would have missed a few classes while being engrossed reading any of the books in this series!

Number 3:

Divergent  by Veronica Roth Now… I’ve already read this twice.  BUT once you start this book, there’s no putting it down until it’s finished.  I’m dying for the Insurgent, the second book, that comes out May 1st!

Number 4:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – This has an amazing adventure of angels, demons, fallen beings, blue hair, forbidden love… I loved this book!  The writing was so well done!!

Number 5:

Graceling by Kristen CashoreI love this series!  Katsa is THE girl!  The world and adventures, the people and their experiences, …I could not put this book down once I had started it! 

Number 6:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett So I think if you read this book during a “history” class, it should count as credit even though you’re not in your seat.  🙂  The story, the characters, and the events are so well written.

Number 7:

 Intuition by Amy A Bartol Hopefully you remember my review on this book…this is the only book I’m putting up that is a second in the series.  I kinda loved this book a little more than the first…the romance is better in this one! 🙂

Number 8

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory – I had to give another “history” book to help even out my list!  I LOVE Philippa Gregory’s writing along with the romance and the characters she brings back to life!

Number 9

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers – I have heard so many good things about this book!  My library keeps informing me that they’ve got it on order and as soon as they get it…I’ll get it…*sigh

Number 10

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – This sounds SO good!  A girl posing as one of Robin Hood’s men!?!  I’m on the waiting list for this one as well at my library.  That’s the downside to living in a big city with a million other people wanting the same book!

8 responses to “Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With

  1. This is a great list! I just check Eragon out from the library and am excited to read it soon! Graceling, Scarlet and Grave Mercy are also all on my TBR list and my sister-in-law keeps insisting I read The Other Boleyn Girl, so maybe I’ll go ahead and put that on my list as well. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks! It’s my first “Top Ten”! I hope you enjoy Eragon! It’s a big book, but it’s got such a good adventure! The Other Boleyn Girl was my first Philippa Gregory book…and now I’ve read almost every one of her books! I love her writing! 🙂

  2. There are so many good books on this list! Divergent was amazing, and I’m also really excited and waiting for May! I also agree that Daughter of Smoke and Bone and The Help are good!

    I was lucky enough to win another blogger’s ARC of Grave Mercy from a giveaway and it came today! I just hope I can find time to read it soon. And I really thought I saw a bookstore selling it in March, but I didn’t think much of it at the time because I didn’t remember when it was supposed to be released. Now I’m wondering if I imagined the whole thing! I can’t think of any books with similar covers, though.

Leave a Reply

