Divergent by Veronica Roth

Wanna know how good this book is?  I read it twice…and this second time was a good excuse to re-read because I wanted to make sure that I gave you (my readers) the BEST review possible.  I already pre-ordered my copy of the next book Insurgent from Amazon.com and paid the extra $1 to make sure I get the book ON release day.  Have I convinced you that it’s amazing yet?

Title: Divergent (Divergent #1)

Author: Veronica Roth

Summary (by Goodreads):

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

My take:

Even though this was my second time to read this book…I loved it the same if not more than when I read it the first time.  That’s always a good sign, huh?  The second book, Insurgent is due to be released on May 1st…I’m doing some serious nail biting and have nervous jitters waiting for it.

The summary, for the book above, does a really good job explaining the setting in which Beatrice lives.  It’s obviously a dystopian novel set in what used to be Chicago.  The group of people living there have divided themselves into factions which promote different heroic traits and the people within each faction live to achieve that characteristic to it’s fullest extent.  Beatrice is born into the Abnegation faction which promotes a selfless life, but there are four other factions (Candor = honesty, Dauntless = bravery, Amity = peace, Erudite = intelligence).  When each teenager reaches the age of 16 they are given the option of staying within their faction or leaving and joining another. In order to join any faction, an initiation takes place. Think of a sorority or fraternity… Should you fail your initiation, you become faction-less which leaves you on the outskirts of town and that is NOT a good thing.

I read this book so fast…both times.  The first time I went back through the book to re-read my favorite parts and read through the little romance parts.  Please tell me I’m not the only one that does that!?!  The romance slowly builds and it doesn’t even begin to show itself until a over half the book is through.  The author does a great job building the characters first so you understand who they are and why they act the way they do.  I really don’t have any negatives…

As Beatrice, who renames herself Tris during her initiation, pushes herself to pass every test thrown her way, she finds out what friends really are, how enemies can be ruthless, and how cute guys can be damaged but so amazing at the same time.  She also finds out that her initial test (which explains which faction she is best suited for) came back inconclusive which makes her a target should the wrong people find her.  So not only does she deal with the stress of an initiation but also that she’s wanted and considered dangerous.

I don’t know what else to say….I can’t even say anything sarcastic because it’s just so good.  I will say that if you liked Hunger Games, this book is somewhat like that, only a little “lighter”.  Great story, great characters, great romance, great action….what else would you want?

Myst~

PS: I won’t tell you which faction Tris chooses, but here’s a clue:

6 responses to “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Yay! I can’t wait for the second one – I might need to re-read this one too. Oh and re-read Hunger Games by next week!! BUSY!

  2. I agree Divergent is so re-readable. Check out the audio sometime- the narrator is fantastic. Somehow I ended up with the ebook, audio and hardcover of Divergent. (though I can justify that I bought the hardcover for a signing)
    You are absolutely right that the romance is well done, and I can certainly understand wanting to re-read your favorite parts.
    So dying to read Insurgent! May have to fit in some time to read Divergent again myself 🙂
    Awesome review and gifs.

    • I haven’t been able to get myself into listening to audiobooks for some reason…maybe this is the right book start with! 🙂 I just recently started playing with gifs in my posts and I find that when I don’t have the right words to say…the visual helps to get my points/feelings across quite nicely!

  3. Funny comment at the end! But I always thought her faction was ridiculously obvious from the plot summary alone, so it was little weird that the book built it up as if it were a suspenseful, difficult decision.

Leave a Reply

