Intuition by Amy A Bartol

I. Have. No. Words.  Epic?  Hot?  Adventurous?  This book…was almost the death of me.  I finished it on Valentine’s Day and had to calm myself down since the third book isn’t out yet.  I wanted to weep.  Actually, I wanted to sob with snot running down my nose, but I had to put on my big girl panties for Valentine’s Day.

Title: Intuition (The Premonition #2)

Author: Amy A. Bartol

Summary (by Goodreads):

I don’t open my eyes so I can’t see him, but I can smell him. He thickens the air I breathe, choking me with his scent…his aroma. I shiver. I have to resist. If I’m not strong, then I will be relegated to the same fate as this predator whose sickness infects me even now. But now, I crave him and he knows that; he has been counting on my need to end the gnawing pain. How he would savor my surrender. I’m alive, but how much longer will it take until I beg him not to be?

My take:

Ok, I don’t mean to be rude, but that summary really doesn’t do this book NEARLY the amount of justice it needs.  I tore through this story with neck breaking speed.   It’s got an adventure like none other, romance like none other, and some major quotability like none other.   Last time I say “none other” that many times…sorry!

The book starts with Evie, Reed, Buns, and Zee headed out for a New Years Eve party that basically gets crashed by some crazy big Powers.  Evie’s own evolution is continuing and with the help of Russell and Zee, she starts being trained to fight or to possibly defend herself.  Not long after this, Evie finds out she and Russell are a magnet for the Divine and the Fallen and it puts not only her and Russell at risk, but also Buns, Brownie, Zee, and more importantly Reed.  Evie’s need to keep them safe from harm, forces her into a decision to runaway with Russell to keep the rest of them from being hurt.  *shakes head…what a girl thing to do!  

We get a great story from her actions though and actually get a few chapters from Russell’s POV. Which, I was dreading the read…but thought “huh, it might be better than reading about Evie moping…” and read it with some gumption.  It turned out to be good…like really good.  It makes me feel for Russell to the point I aaaaaaalmost changed from Team Reed…I said almost.

The romance is so good.  Like GOOD good.  It made my heart happy and left me doing a happy dance in my chair.

After finishing the book…I soon ended up with a feeling like depression…this feeling was because I realized I had worked myself into a frenzy for the third book…which wasn’t out yet.

Where’s the third book?  *stares into camera* Amy, it’s your fault if I gain 50 pounds from eating this many Doritos…

I digress…To keep with the good feelings…one of my favorite funny quotes from the book:

“I don’t know what just happened, Reed, but I can tell you, that if she touches you one more time, she’s going to wind up with a fork sticking out of her.”

and then of course,

“Well, he had to tell you what kind of warrior he is.  You know…’I will eviscerate your enemies and sear them in the fires of agony’ blah, blah, blah, – ‘if they dare speak your name I will cute out their tongues’ blah, blah, blah’…”

I smile just reading that!  I seriously love this twisted family!

Myst~

PS: Amy, I know you may not read this, but *on my knees* I would love to get an ARC of Indebted and *waves hand dismissively* …then we can just forget about that Doritos comment…

Update: To get a better understanding of just what the heck I’m talking about…visit my review page for “Inescapable“, the first book in this amazing series.

13 responses to “Intuition by Amy A Bartol

  1. This is hilarious. I love it and you. Thank you for such a kind an humorous review. (I love the Johnny Depp image. I feel like that most of the time.) I’ve never done an ARC (not sure how that works), but I would love for you to read Indebted, so I can send you a paperback copy when I get the first ones from the publisher. Would that work? (You’ll have to email me your information so I can send it to you and you can ask me a question in the email that you send, before you send your address, that only someone who has read the book (or wrote it) would know so that you know that it’s me and not some creepy stalker before you give out your address. Or, I can just type a smiley face at the end of this message so that you know I wrote it 🙂 –like Aoibhe to Leander) Thank you again, you are a rock star. P.S You should write a book.

    • Amy, I am floored! Honored is probably a better word to use, but floored will have to work cause I’m literally picking my jaw up off the floor! Thank you!!! I sent you a message through Goodreads since I couldn’t find your email and then I found your email and sent you a message there. I can’t wait to get my hands on Indebted and review it! Thank you again!

  2. I am reading the 2nd book too. And I am really having a hard time reading as slowly as I can so I won’t left hanging and waiting for the 3rd book to be released. I’m so IN-love with Reed and Evie’s love story. And I think I picture myself having a crush on Zee’s character. LOL. Good job on this review!

  3. Thanks! I’ll bookmark your page coz’ most of the books you review are the typical types of books I read. I like how Amy writes…i hope I also have the talent. =D see yah around!

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With | mystmusician

  5. Pingback: “Waiting On” Wednesday – Indebted | mystmusician

  6. Pingback: TTT Freebie- Top Ten Favorite Book Reviews | mystmusician

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Posts on My Blog | mystmusician

Leave a Reply

