Inescapable by Amy Bartol

I was confused and a little stand off-ish at the beginning of this book…but the book gets SO good in the middle.  The ending leaves a little hint of a cliff hanger and the romantic triangle I walked into…mmmm.  *hands up*  I did so willingly.

Title: Inescapable (The Premonition #1)

Author: Amy A. Bartol

Summary (by Goodreads):

My name is Evie Claremont and this was to be the making of me–my freshman year of college. I had been hoping that once I had arrived on Crestwood’s campus, the nightmare that I’ve been having would go away. It hasn’t.

I may be an inexperienced seventeen-year-old, but I’m grounded…sane. Since meeting sophomore Reed Wellington, however, nothing makes any sense. Whenever he is near, I feel an attraction to him–a magnetic kind of force pulling me towards him. I know what you’re thinking…that sounds fairly awesome. Yeah, it would–if he liked me, but Reed acts as if I’m the worst thing that’s ever happened to Crestwood…or him. But, get this, for some reason every time I turn around he’s there, barging into my life.

What is the secret he is keeping from me? I’m hoping that it is anything but what I expect: that he is not exactly normal…and neither am I. So maybe Crestwood won’t be the making of me, but it could be the breaking of me. I have been left to wonder if the dark future my dream is foretelling is…inescapable.

My take:

Evie is a girl whose parents had died when she was young.  She was then raised by her Uncle (her mother’s brother) and is now an incoming freshman at college.  She met a guy during the summer for college visitation named Alfred (whom she nicknames as Freddie) and more recently, during freshman orientation, meets a cute southern gentleman boy named Russell.  She also has the fortunate opportunity to meed Reed…who unfortunately acts like a total jerk.  He’s the strong, silent jerk type…but extremely hot.

So like I mentioned above, I was a little stand off-ish in the beginning.  Reed had been able to do a “Jedi mind trick” on Russell and it seemed like Evie was completely cool with the idea.   Plus, accepting the fact that she wasn’t normal, even though she felt normal all her life.  Then there’s the fact that Reed’s downright rude to her and tells her she needs to leave and go away immediately…but she still has these amazing feelings because he’s so hot.  If the beginning was written a little different then I think I would have been a lot more accepting…  enough about that though…let’s get to the good stuff!!

After you get past the beginning though….the romance that blossoms and the love triangle that happens made me feel all giddy and girly.  I love a good romance in my ya fiction!

*no kidding…that’s what I felt like doing while staring in my iPad… hey…don’t judge!

This book was good at balancing how she finds out about “the mystery”, while choosing between Russell and Reed, and making friends while being a freshman in college.  Normally in ya fiction, it’s just about the girl ditching everyone she knows for the sake of her new boyfriend, but the author was able to help keep her character connected to her new friends while building the story.

Evie has these nightmares that started once she got accepted to college…she doesn’t understand it, but it’s terrifying.  I feel like I should write more about the story, but if I do…it gives away the secrets and when you read WHAT exactly is going on…*sigh.  I can’t say anymore.  Oooohhh…but I want to.  No spoilers…it’s too good to spoil.

So…I paid a total of $2.99 at Amazon.com for the book and it was such a great investment…I paid $3.99 for the next one IntuitionJust a forewarning…the second book…*giddy grin*…has some good romance to it.  Remember…I did so willingly.  I wrote the author and told her I felt like a junkie…dying for her second book and having the same reaction waiting for the third.  …I probably shouldn’t have used that terminology huh?

Just remember:

“Friends don’t let friends get nekkid with professors.”

Myst~

PS: Intuition (the second book) is going to be reviewed on Friday, released at noon as always… 🙂  You won’t want to miss it!

2 responses to “Inescapable by Amy Bartol

  1. Pingback: Intuition by Amy A Bartol | mystmusician

  2. Pingback: “Waiting On” Wednesday – Indebted | mystmusician

Leave a Reply

