Angelfall by Susan Ee

I am SO excited to review this book!!!  I stumbled on it while digging through other book reviewing blogs and was a little wary of it because the reviewer gave it SUCH a great review.  It’s true….all that they wrote about it…it’s true.  Hoooooly smokes.  Kinda literally.  PLUS it’s only .99 for the kindle (iphone/ipad users need the kindle app to allow you to read it [which that’s free])!!

Title: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)

Author: Susan Ee

Summary (by Goodreads):

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

My take:

Like I mentioned above…the reviewer who gave a “shiny, sparkly, *clapping hands*, *jumping up and down*” review…made me a little wary.

It couldn’t be THAT good…right? It’s .99…not even a dollar to buy!!! I fell in love with this book so fast and I’m DYING for more.

Before 6 weeks ago, the world was normal.  Before 6 weeks ago, everyone still had cell phones and cars.  Before 6 weeks ago, angels were unseen beings. 6 weeks ago ago, angels materialized and became our enemies sent to demolish us and the world.

Penryn, her mother, and her wheelchair bound 7 year old sister Paige are foraging through houses, cars, office buildings to find food and shelter.  Angels have demolished countless numbers of people and have let cities burn themselves to the ground.  Staying alive is always running for cover and keeping your eyes on the skies, but when a feather slowly floats out of the skies in front of Penryn and then 6 angels land in front of her, fighting…it changes her world forever.  It would certainly change my life…seeing angels fighting in front of me…

Penryn’s younger sister is kidnapped by one of the fighting angels and in order to try and save her, Penryn makes a crazy decision to help an injured angel in hopes he’ll lead her to Paige.  Raffe is hot…like gorgeous…cause he’s an angel…and Penryn tries to keep feelings in check as they try to work together to find Paige.  Hahahaha…haha…ha…yeeeeeeeah try not falling for a super strong handsome gentleman angel.  Not possible.

When I read the inital review, the reviewer kept quoting things out of the book…I understand why.  The book is all dark and despair with a crazy mom, a missing sister, and a demolished civilization … and then you get witty smart remarks back and forth between the characters that make you laugh.  Like:

“I never kid about my warrior demigod status.” – Raffe  “Oh. My. God. You are nothing but a bird with attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.”  – Penryn

Oooooor….

“What’s your name?” – man to Raffe  “My friends call me Wrath, my enemies call me Please Have Mercy. What’s your name, soldier boy?” – Raffe

Don’t try to make sense of it now…It will most definitely make sense as you read and you will laugh.  Hard.  You will thank me.  *waives hand in dismissive manner…just doing my job.

This HAS a cliff hanger.  It ends decent with most ties wrapped up, but you will end up miserable, like me…but it’s worth the misery and the masochistic feeling.  I think it’s worth it.  Cool thing to note though about this book…it’s self published from the author.

~Myst

PS – The website where I first read the review about the book is found here: Book Catching  Visit their site…you will understand why I spent the money to buy the book…seriously….

4 responses to “Angelfall by Susan Ee

    • Thanks! When you posted some quotes originally I didn’t quite get it, but I was on the look-out as I read the book…and it was like *lightbulb* and it all made sense and made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

