Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

I savored each word.  I didn’t want it to end.  It was SO good.  *sigh…but I’m glad he wrote an 850 page book for the finish…any less and it wouldn’t have seemed right.  Answers are given, discoveries are made, lives are lost, and the ultimate battle is fought.  I’m serious…it had it all.

Title: Inheritance (#4 of the Inheritance Cycle)

Author: Christopher Paolini

Summary (by Goodreads):

Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

My take:

You didn’t think I would let you off the hook with no book review until Friday did you?  …tsk tsk.  No faith.

……..I took a couple of hours to sit and think through the book after I got done reading it.  Like I mentioned above, this wasn’t a light read…it was 850 beautifully written and sculpted pages of victories, agonies, laughter, and betrayals.  It brought the story to an ultimate conclusion and made me jump up and down in excitement after reading a section towards the middle.  (I won’t say what it is, but I never saw it coming!!)

Eragon is put through multiple tests.  Saphira faces her own battles and storms.  Roran is put through battle after battle.  Nasuada is faced with the most important decisions for the Varden.  Galbatorix is becoming more and more cunning.  Angela….well she’s just as weird as ever.

The story was just amazing.  All the things Paolini writes about before even getting to the final battle is amazing as it shows how the characters learn about themselves, their limits, and just what exactly they’re made of.  His characters become more involved in realizing their fate while trying to make sure their worst fears of a Galbatorix-ruled world does not happen.

Who becomes the coward?  Who dies?   Who falls in love?  Who decides to turn and help their enemy?  Does Roran have a girl or a boy?  *smile  This book seriously was it’s own story in and of itself.  There are a few things I wished were different in the ending, but I think I understand Paolini’s decisions when he wrote them that way.

Umm, excuse me….uhh, how do I make it to Alagaesia? I’d like to live there,  please.

*sigh…I want time to re-read the whole series over again.

~Myst

Leave a Reply

