Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Talk about running through this book.  Picked it up yesterday from the library and was anxious all through work to read it!!!   I won’t lie though, this book made me mad.  I was so frustrated and so emotionally mad at the characters.  I haven’t had that in a while!

Title: Crescendo (Hush, hush #2)

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Summary (by Goodreads):

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever and even worse, he’s started spending time with Nora’s arch-enemy, Marcie Millar. 

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadnt been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feeling that he’s hiding something. 

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperately searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

My take:

So, like I said above.  I was SO mad at Nora and Patch.  Nora couldn’t get answers to questions and got all stupid on Patch.  *sigh  It’s characters like her that give females a bad rap.

The story takes a little bit of a twist as Nora and Patch go through a rough spot.  Patch still isn’t quite ready to let on exactly what is going on with him in his world and Nora can’t stand…not knowing.  As she starts to over analyze their relationship, Nora makes one bad decision after another.

The Nephilim are back in full force, Vee is just as quirky, Patch is just as distant, and there’s a new boy in town…Scotty (aka: Scotty the Potty or Scotty the Hottie…depending on who you are talking to).   Don’t even get me started on Marcie!  She takes bullying to a WHOLE new level.  Some of the things she says and does made me want to hurl the book across the room and run around a parking lot to blow off steam.  I got waaaaay too involved in these characters for some reason.

Overall, it’s a good book.  I don’t think it’s as good as the first, but all characters are flawed I guess.  I just couldn’t stand the backstabbing and all the “back and forth” in the book.  It had some good moments though!  I kinda guessed the outcome by the middle of the book too…which I hate it when that happens.  I’m really not doing a good job trying to convince people to read it, am I? 

I guess this is just a good forewarning of what to expect in the book, because from the first chapter….it’s ALL a big emotional roller coaster!

~Myst

Leave a Reply

