Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This was a weird book.  It completely changed the ideas of angels and demons to make them into a race all their own on another plane on earth.  I just finished the book and I have been staring at the wall for a few moments just to gather myself.  What just happened??

Title: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Author:Laini Taylor

Summary(by Goodreads):

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

My take:

It took me a little bit to “get into” the book.  The first half or so of this book was a good baseline for the book.  That also means though that (to me at least) it “drudged” just a bit.

Karou is a very abnormal teenage girl.  She runs errands to all parts of the world for half-animal / half-human creatures.  One minute, she’s in Prague and the next…Paris…then it’s Marrakesh.  She has blue hair that actually grows out of her head.   She’s just one freaky teenager!

While out on one of her errands, she meets an angel.  Wings, powerful, handsome, ….angel.  From there her story starts to pick up as she slowly learns about herself, where she came from, and who exactly she has been working for.

The creativity of this book was phenomenal.  So much so, it was hard to keep up with at times.  The author would talk about creatures with human bodies but with horns on their heads (I had to stop picturing Narnia people) or snake-hair (like Medusa).  Plus the fact that when I think of angels…I think of heaven and God…but this author has almost a completely different background and premise for angels.

It’s definitely it’s own genre.  There’s no book out there that I can really say is like it.  It’s got action, fantasy, myth, romance, mystery….but it’s just so different.  I’m literally pulling my hair out here trying to explain it.

The first half had me wondering if I was going to like it…the second half has me wanting more.  Did I mention yet that there’s a sequel that won’t come out until next September?  The book doesn’t leave you crazy hanging on something…it just has that suspense feel with an uncharacteristic ya fiction ending.  Do I have your attention now?  Good!  Read it!

Myst~

"Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love... It did not end well."

3 responses to “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. I first heard about this book via YALSA, the Young Adult Library Association website. I was skeptical at first, but your review has made me want to read it now. My college’s library system is having this book on order; this semester only has a month left so I might not be able to read it anytime soon. However, I will definitely check this book out when it is available.

    Also, I too love reading young adult literature and I’m also an aspiring young adult author. Check out my blog: http://wp.me/1Uvv4
    I don’t read the latest YA lit often, but I am trying to blog about whatever YA book I happen to read.

    • Thank you so much for the comment!!! I’ve got way too many library books that need reading and reviewed! I’ll definitely go by your blog and check it out!! I look forward to hopefully hearing from you after you read it to see what you think!! Thanks again for the comment!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Posts on My Blog | mystmusician

Leave a Reply

