Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

I ferociously read this book….I didn’t want it to end.  It took a turn from the creepiness of the first book, to more of a Lord of the Rings adventure.  I’ve already cracked open the next book…I cannot WAIT to see how this ends!  Can you tell I’m just a teeeeeensy bit excited??

Title: Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters #2)

Author: Michelle Zink

Summary (by Goodreads):

The ultimate battle between sisters is nearing, and its outcome could have catastrophic consequences. As sixteen year-old Lia Milthorpe searches for a way to end the prophecy, her twin sister Alice hones the skills she’ll need to defeat Lia. Alice will stop at nothing to reclaim her sister’s role in the prophecy, and that’s not the only thing she wants: There’s also Lia’s boyfriend James.

Lia and Alice always knew the Prophecy would turn those closest to them against them. But they didn’t know what betrayal could lead them to do. In the end, only one sister will be left standing.

My take:

I was left wondering how the series is going to end by time I got to the final pages of the book.  A crazy revelation was brought to light when Lia finds the rest of the pages and you get the sense that this is going to end badly.  *nnnooooooo!!!

Lia also has a new guy who is hot hot hot!  It’s a little fast and sudden…all ya fiction have the same sudden romances though, “I looked at him and I knew him…it was like I’ve known him forever.”  But I do like Demitri…more so than James from the first book.  Props to the author for being able to win me over so fast with the new guy though.  *smile

Lia’s character grows in this book.  She gets betrayed by a friend, she learns to do more with her powers as a Sister, and seems to finally understand the magnitude of her role and what it would mean if she were to fail.  It got heavy and deep for this poor girl.

We also get a look at the Sisterhood and their role as well as the Gregori.  There is still tension between her and Alice, but it’s not at the forefront of the book.  This book is really focused on progressing the story and gets a good swift kick of an adventure with a good side of romance.  Kind of perfect if you ask me….and by reading this, you are kinda asking me…so….yeah.

~Myst

Leave a Reply

