Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

So this book was a little creepy creepy!!  I had to say it twice to emphasize the creepiness.  Although, I think I wanted it to be creepy and may have helped the book in it’s creepiness by psyching myself out a little…it’s almost Halloween and I live really close to a graveyard, wouldn’t you freak yourself out too??

Title: Prophecy of the Sisters

Author: Michelle Zink

Summary (by Goodreads):

An ancient prophecy divides two sisters-

One good…

One evil…

Who will prevail?

Twin sisters Lia and Alice Milthorpe have just become orphans. They have also become enemies. As they discover their roles in a prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other, the girls find themselves entangled in a mystery that involves a tattoo-like mark, their parents’ deaths, a boy, a book, and a lifetime of secrets.

Lia and Alice don’t know whom they can trust.

They just know they can’t trust each other.

My take:

I enjoyed this book!  My husband got a little worried for me saying I shouldn’t probably read it because I kept mentioning how creepy it was….I do NOT do scary movies or books, usually I can’t handle them.  But I think this book teetered on the edge of creepy/scary enough to not freak me completely out, but get a shiver or two.  Plus I chewed down a couple of fingernails…so if you’re looking to grow your nails out, you may not want to read this!

Good news is this is a trilogy series and the third book was just published in August this past summer.  So if you want to start a little chilling tale before Halloween…the whole series is out and done!  I just finished this first book last Friday and should be getting the last two from the library this week.  So hopefully the last two books (Guardian of the Gate and Circle of Fire) will be just as good as the first!!  It always sucks when the next books don’t live up to the first…*crosses fingers.

The book is set in 1889 and is about twin sisters whose parents have died in strange ways.  Lia stumbles across an old legend/prophecy about twin sisters.  It says through each generation, one sister will be the gate that will let the lost souls loose upon the earth and the second will be the guardian of the gate who will have to battle the sister into keeping the gate shut to keep peace. Which sister is the gate and which is the guardian?

There’s a lot of mythology regarding angels, lost souls, the devil, marks, etc.  It’s a mystery, creepy story, a race against time, a nail biter, and a love story.  I recommend it!   Hopefully soon I’ll be able to recommend the whole series!

~Myst

Leave a Reply

