Eragon, Eldest, and Brisingr by Christopher Paolini

Ready to see my dorky side?  Sooooo not joking.  Elves, dragons, dwarfs…oh my!  Seriously though, this series rocks!   And it’s not even finished yet!!  The 4th book comes out in November, and goodness me…I cannot wait!

Title: Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, (Inheritance – Nov 8th 2011)

Author: Christopher Paolini

Summary:

When young Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his adopted family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself. Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of inescapable destiny, magical forces, and powerful people. With only an ancient sword and the instruction of an old, mysterious, hermit storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a Emperor whose evil and power knows no bounds. Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands…

My take:

Anyone remember the movie they made for Eragon?  Remember how much it sucked?  I think they should remake it…since everyone and their mom is remaking books right now anyways.  I kinda let my ideas of the movie influence my thoughts about reading this series…for shame on Hollywood!!  My brother …who never reads… tore through this series and told me that I HAD to read it!  So reluctantly I did.  Thank FREAKING goodness for my brother!

A lot of people have given this series flack because they feel like Paolini stole the story line from Lord of the Rings and I even saw a comment somewhere saying “He (Paolini) didn’t even make up the elvish language!  He stole that from Tolkien!”  Wow.  When you “spell check” elvish language to another book…that’s a WHOLE ‘nuther realm of nerdiness.

The books have a great sense of adventure!  It’s got heartache, it’s got a medieval feel, it’s got the damsel in distress, it’s got a love story, it’s got a revenge story….it encompasses a lot of great things that a brilliant YA Fiction book should have.  I absolutely cannot wait for the 4th book to come out in early November of this year!  These books are pretty lengthy, so if you’re thinking about reading them, don’t wait!

Also, what 19 year old do you know that writes like this??  I was even thinking to myself that there was no way I could write a series like that.   Talk about all the time, effort, and imagination!!

So, I thoroughly enjoyed this series so far and cannot wait for the 4th book to be published! 🙂  Let me know if you decide to read these and what you think!

Myst~

Leave a Reply

