Unwind by Neal Shusterman

This book had me trying to read it as fast as I could.  I’m sure my parents would have loved to have threatened me with the fact that they could not only ground me, but unwind me!  …I don’t know if that still would have worked though…I was a big rebel as a teen…I made my younger brother’s life SO much easier.

Title: Unwind

Author: Neal Shusterman

Summary:

Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

My take:

In order to cease the war between the pro-lifers and pro-choicers, a law was passed that a person cannot perform an abortion until the child reaches the years of reasoning.  Therefore, when a child is between the ages of 13-18 you can legally unwind your kid (aka: donate every little tissue, muscle, organ, eyeball, brain matter, etc.)  How creeeeeeeeepy is that?  This book really thought through the issues of different things.  What to do with the moms who really couldn’t handle a baby and instead of adoption, left a baby at a doorstep.  The religious aspects of how families/the church would treat this.  The child’s reaction to being unwound.  The rebels who help get unwounds to safe keeping.

I honestly can say, it was a good book and thought provoking.  I don’t know many good thought provoking ya fiction that I like.  The only thing I wasn’t too keen on, was how the author kept going from person to persons point of view, but you eventually get used to it and are able to see the scenes more clearly through the eyes of someone other than a kid who was being unwound.

So again, I liked it.  ’nuff said.

~Myst

2 responses to “Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Leave a Reply

