The Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines

With a cover like this….the content did not live up to it.  *sigh  You know how much I wanted it to just…be amazing?…be captivating?…kick major butt??  I went out and bought bright blue nail polish to paint my toes the same color…THAT is how much I wanted this book to be great.  (so NOT kidding about the nail polish…I really did that)

Title: Girl in the Arena

Author: Lise Haines

Summary:

It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through.  Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family.  Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator.  Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him… For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine.

My take:

Ok, I’m not making fun of the author’s name, but Lise?  It makes it look like we all spelled her name wrong…wait is that a girls name?

Onto the book…I was hoping and thinking there was going to be more action I guess.  It’s centered around Lyn who has gone through 6 fathers and when her 7th gets killed, the winning gladiator picks up a bracelet that only Lyn’s betrothed/husband should touch.  Ceasers Inc. decides that Lyn and the winner should get married and make it a worldwide televised event.  It then sparks  a crazy drama filled book.  Again, don’t start reading it thinking it’ll be this epic to-the-death battle with crazy combat moves and fierce tattoos! .…I thought that…I really thought there would be crazy tattoos…what?…don’t hate.

Anyways, it had it’s good moments and bad moments.  I loved the beginning and how it tells how it all started.  Great storytelling.  I like how the author incorporated the new modern technology with televising events, paparazzi, the bias-ness of people against Gladiators and their families, etc.  With the beginning story and the modern twists, I could almost see a slight variation of this possibly happening years from now.

So, as long as you go into reading it knowing it’s more of a drama book than action book you might like it.

~Myst

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s