A Million Suns by Beth Revis

So here’s the second installment in the “Across the Universe” trilogy.  I didn’t love this book as much as the first one….BUT it throws some great curve balls with the plot.  I would sit there stunned or just stare at the page after I had read something and just go…”What.  The. Heck.”  Seriously…they were such good crazy plot ideas.

Title: A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2)

Author: Beth Revis

Summary (by Goodreads):

Godspeed was fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to enact his vision – no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder discovers shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that’s growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

In book two of the Across the Universe trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis mesmerizes us again with a brilliantly crafted mystery filled with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: They have to get off this ship.

My take:

So….like I mentioned before, it did some crazy plot twists.  Seriously…my face did this:

*MINOR SPOILER* in the first and third chapter you find out that the engines are having issues and that no work is being done to help the engines out…all help is going towards sustaining life aboard the Godspeed.  Then to further complicate things it’s mentioned that not only are the engines having problems, buuuuut that they’re not actually moving at all.  Godspeed.  Is. Sitting.  Still.  In.  Space.  See?!?  I told you it was crazy!!!!  It made me do a crazy scream mixed with a WHAT? and why the HECK did no one say something to Elder sooner!!!  *END MINOR SPOILER*

Amy on the other hand is really having issues with not being able to unfreeze her parents.  She’s scared that Godspeed’s not going to make it to the planet in time for her to see them alive.  She and Elder are still trying to figure out their relationship and Amy has complicated feelings wondering if she were on Earth…would she have picked him?  Does she only have feelings for Elder because he’s the only one her age on the ship?  Well, duh…she likes him cause he’s her age…she’s not digging the crazy older guys.  It helps that he’s nice though and smart and the next leader…etc. etc.

To top it all off, since Elder has taken the poplulation of Godspeed off of Phydus (the drug agent in the water making the people act calm/easily manipulated) mayhem has been breaking out with the knowledge that they have free will.  They can even make someone else the leader and take Elder down from his leadership role.  It gets crazy…Luther just…ugh.  If you’ve read the first book, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Orion has left clues for Amy to follow saying that there has been a HUGE secret and he needs for her to find it out and for her alone to make the decision.  She goes on this hunt for clues and she and Elder figure out just what Orion had found out about Godspeed.   Holy. Crap.  Along the way, someone is always one step ahead and is sabotaging their efforts.

I’m dyyyyyyyyyying for the next book.  It’s not that this had a cliff hanger (although it felt like it), I just seriously want to know what the heck happens.  The third book isn’t due out until NEXT freaking January.  *cries*  Why?  *sobs*  *wipes nose on sleeve*  All I have to say is that if Beth screws up the last book in the series, I’m not going to be happy.  *stares into camera*  So…Don’t. Mess. It. Up. Revis.  *smiles*

~Myst

9 responses to “A Million Suns by Beth Revis

  1. I agree- this book did have crazy plot twists, and I loved it! Even more than Across the Universe I think.
    It will be a long wait, but I’m sure it will be worth it.
    Fun review!

    • Thank you for the comment! It’s always nice seeing that someone actually reads what I write. Haha! I’m learning the ways of .gif files…and I’m becoming obsessed, so there will be more to come in my upcoming reviews!

  2. O.M.G. I could not but help stare at Sam and Dean Winchester’s faces…but I love the review. I’m probably cheating by reading your review of the sequel rather than the other, but (*shrugs*) oh, well. I’m still not quite sure about this series. Mostly because it seems a little similar to the movie Pandorum.

      • It’s the setting that’s similar. Pandorum is a sci-fi/futuristic/horror/psychological thriller all rolled into one movie with Dennis Quaid and Ben Foster. Not to mention a naked Cam Gigandet (I hope I spelled his last name right). Once you watch the movie, you’ll see the similarities, but the storylines (based on your reviews) are waaaaaaay different. If you can handle zombie gore, then you can handle Pandorum gore with a ending you did. Not. Expect.

        But, I am gonna read the books because you’re reviews are very insightful :)

    • I was going to try to comment on your blog earlier today but found I couldn’t! It said comments weren’t enabled…? I love seeing people finding the courage to actually write a book. I’ve been told to write one…but I don’t have the guts to (for one) and all the ideas I come up with are lame (two)…I have a few other reasons. But it always makes me happy to see someone like yourself trying and going for your dream of writing a book! :) I can’t wait to see more updates about your book writings!

      • WHA? Darn, my stupid pre-set settings I set up like a freakin’ year ago! Last year, my Advanced Broadcast Journalism teacher FORCED us to make a wordpress blog. At the time, I had no idea what I was doing and I’ve only recently re-discovered my blog. I will fix the comment problem ASAP!

      • You should be able to find the settings for comments (if you haven’t done so already) under “Settings” and then “Discussion”. The boxes up at the top of the page would need to be checked in order to allow comments and whatnot. :)

Leave a Reply

